2020 will be the year of the Sportster

2020 will be the year of the Harley-Davidson Sportster!

The EURO 5 standard will change the Sportster 2021!

In 2017, Harley-Davidson the 60th Sportster anniversary and in 2020 comes the sad end of the previous Sportster tradition, which was based on the old EVOLUTION engine technology.

The reason for this is that the two Sportster engines 883cm³ and 1200cm³ no longer comply with the Euro 5 standard, which will be tightened in 2021.

The EU emissions standards for 2021 require up to 30% less exhaust emissions, and the standard also applies to noise emissions from the engine. Yes, that's right, the engine must be quieter and radiate less heat.

It is not yet known whether this model is already included.

Harley-Davidson prototypeForty Eight Special

The Sportster will still be available in the 2021 model year, just not in the same way as before. It is not yet clear whether the metamorphosis will be as strong as it was with the Softail models, but in any case new engines are coming for the models and Harley-Davidson will use this moment to reposition itself in production.

Harley Davidson Pan America and the Bronx onto the road in the 2021 model year Revolution Max engine , and it is currently becoming apparent that this newly developed engine will also find its way into the Sportster class.

The new Revolution Max engine from Harley-Davidson
The new Revolution Max engine from Harley-Davidson

The new Revolution Max engines have a displacement of 975 cm³ and 1250 cm³, which would be fine. However, the 1250 engine is very powerful, we'll see how Harley-Davidson will solve that.

Another difference to the previous Sportster engine is that the new engine could be water-cooled, but that doesn't necessarily have to be the case, with less power, there may be another solution for this.

How will the market behave?

One thing is clear, the Sportster models have always been very stable and are very popular. It is suitable for everything, as an entry-level model, cafe racer, or completely original. With its over 60-year-old cult behind it, it can also captivate the most hard-core bikers. And biker ladies are just as attracted to her. It also offers endless possibilities for customizers and the best thing is still its incredibly good sound. Hardly any other motorcycle can serve such a wide range.

The Sportster still has the right sound!

The air-cooled Evolution V2 engine is from ancient times. You can hear and feel that too.

There will certainly be parallels to the V-Rod when it was taken off the market because of the Euro 4 standard. The excitement will build up in the second half of the year, because things suddenly happened very quickly with the V-Rod when some Harley dealers stocked up on large quantities.

Harley-Davidson Night Rod Special
Harley-Davidson Night Rod Special

They received a daily permit before the turn of the year and were initially safe. Later they were slowly introduced to the market because the demand for the V-Rod remained, although it wasn't always that way.

The demand for the Sportster TOP sellers will certainly increase. Anyone who is still thinking about whether they want to buy a Sportster is definitely well advised not to wait until summer.
No matter what the 2021 Sportster model line will look like, the Sportster era is not over, it is just undergoing a change.

A legitimate question would be whether the stricter Euro emissions regulations for motorcycles make any sense at all.

Harley Davidson Sportster Custom


160K Harleysite
14.2k followers
16k YouTube
1.4k Twitter
259Followers
6k Tumblr
 Followers
776Loves
 Subscribers
3k TikTok
0Spotify

2020 wird das Jahr der Sportster

2020 wird das Jahr der Harley-Davidson Sportster!

Die EURO 5 Norm wird die Sportster 2021 verändern!

Im Jahr 2017 hat Harley-Davidson noch das 60-jährige Sportster Jubiläum gefeiert und 2020 kommt das traurige Ende der bisherigen Sportster Tradition, die auf der alten EVOLUTION – Motorentechnik basierte.

Der Grund dafür ist, das die beiden Sportster Motoren 883cm³ und 1200cm³ nicht mehr der in 2021 verschärften Euro 5 Norm entsprechen.

Die EU Emissionsvorgaben für 2021 verlangen bis zu 30% weniger Abgasausstoß, dazu greift die Norm ebenfalls bei den Geräuschemissionen vom Motor, ja richtig, der Motor muss leiser werden und weniger Hitze ausstrahlen.

Ob dieses Modell schon dazu gehört, ist noch nicht bekannt.

Harley-Davidson PrototypForty-Eight Special

Die Sportster wird es im Modelljahr 2021 noch geben, nur eben nicht mehr so wie bisher. Ob die Metamorphose so stark ausfallen wird, wie es bei den Softail Modellen stattgefunden hat, ist noch nicht klar, aber auf jeden Fall kommen für die Modelle neue Motoren und Harley-Davidson wird diesen Moment nutzen um sich in der Produktion neu zu positionieren.

Harley Davidson bringt im Modelljahr 2021 die Pan America und die Bronx auf die Straße, beide haben den neuen Revolution Max Motor verbaut, derzeit zeichnet es sich ab, das dieses neu entwickelte Triebwerk ebenfalls in der Sportster Klasse Einzug hält.

Der neue Revolution Max Motor von Harley-Davidson
Der neue Revolution Max Motor von Harley-Davidson

Die neuen Revolution Max Motoren haben einen Hubraum von 975 cm³ und 1250 cm³, das würde schon passen. Allerdings ist gerade der 1250 Motor sehr Leistungsstark, wir werden sehen, wie Harley-Davidson das lösen wird.

Ein weiterer Unterschied zum bisherigen Sportster Motor ist, das der neue Motor wassergekühlt sein könnte, das muss allerdings nicht unbedingt sein, mit weniger Leistung, kann es eine andere Lösung dafür geben.

Wie wird sich der Markt verhalten?

Eins ist klar, die Sportster Modelle waren schon immer sehr wert stabil und sind sehr beliebt. Sie hat eignet sich für alles, als einsteiger Modell, Cafe Racer, oder völlig original. Sie kann mit ihrem über 60 Jahre alten Kult im Rücken, ebenfalls den hartgesotten Biker in den Bann ziehen. Und Biker Ladies fühlen sich von ihr genauso angezogen. Dazu bietet sie unendliche Möglichkeiten für Customizer und das Beste ist immer noch ihr unglaublich guter Sound. Kaum ein anderes Motorrad, kann so ein breites Spektrum bedienen.

Die Sportster hat noch den richtigen Sound!

Der luftgekühlte Evolution V2-Motor ist noch aus alten Zeiten. das hört und spürt man auch.

Es wird sicherlich parallelen zur V-Rod geben, als sie wegen der Euro 4 Norm vom Markt genommen wurde. Die Spannung wird sich zur zweiten Jahreshälfte aufbauen, denn schon bei der V-Rod ging das plötzlich ganz schnell, als einige Harley Dealer sich große Stückzahlen weggestellt haben.

Harley-Davidson Night Rod Special
Harley-Davidson Night Rod Special

Die bekamen vorm Jahreswechsel eine Tageszulassung und waren erstmal safe. Später wurden sie langsam dem Markt zugeführt, denn die Nachfrage zur V-Rod ist geblieben, obwohl das nicht immer so war.

Die Nachfrage nach den Sportster TOP Sellern wird sicherlich ansteigen, wer noch am überlegen ist, ob er sich eine Sportster kaufen möchte, ist bestimmt gut beraten, nicht bis in den Sommer damit zu warten.
Egal wie die Sportster Modellreihe 2021 aussehen wird, die Ära der Sportster ist nicht zu Ende, sie erfährt nur eine Veränderung.

Eine berechtigte Frage wäre, ob die verschärften Euro Emissionsvorschriften bei Motorrädern überhaupt Sinn machen.

Harley-Davidson Sportster Custom