Still crazy after all these years

From June 21st to 23rd, the Hamburg Harley Days celebrated the 110th birthday of Harley-Davidson and its own “ten year”

Harley and Hamburg are a very special relationship. After all, the first Milwaukee Irons often found their way to Germany via Hamburg's harbor.

So the Hanseatic people didn't have to wait long when it came to properly celebrating two anniversaries this year: 110 years of Harley-Davidson and 10 years of Hamburg Harley Days , which meant lots of surprises and an entertainment program on the third weekend in June 2013 , which more than lived up to the occasion.

The center of the action was once again the 40,000 m2 tent city “Harley Village” at the Hamburg wholesale market.

The open space, which has been tried and tested for years, also turned out to be a hit on the event's anniversary with its combination of great city views and generous space for the numerous caterers, retailers and independent traders. Spectacular stunt shows, free test drives and live music acts from Lake, Andrew Strong and nine other bands formed a completely harmonious overall package.

The highlights of the anniversary edition included the large expo and experience tent, in which not only the latest Harleys but also an exhibition on the history of the brand could be admired, and the “Harley Days Night Parades”, which provided many a fiery moment.

Anyone who wanted to enjoy the city's nightlife to the full afterwards also had the opportunity to park their machine safely in the new safe parking area for the first time.

17HD13 HHD_2013_02See and be seen was the motto at night at the second event location on the Reeperbahn and on Saturday afternoon on Mönckebergstrasse, where the best V-twin tuners in the motorcycle scene gathered.

Under the strict eyes of the jury, which included Harley fans and actors Till Demtrøder, Stephan Luca and Kostja Ullmann, the Ride-In Bike Show featured numerous high-quality unique items.

On Sunday, around 10,000 bikers honored their hosts under the leadership of Till Demtrøder and TV chef Horst Lichter at the large motorcycle parade, a good 43 km long, across Hamburg.

A shared experience that thrilled both bikers and onlookers with the special charm of the harbor metropolis - and put a big permanent grin on the faces of both Demtrøder and Lichter.

Around 550,000 visitors were counted at the three event locations over the three days, and it is certain that the party will continue in 2014: The Hamburg Harley Days 2014 is expected to take place from June 20th to 22nd!

 

Text & Images: Copyright Harley-Davidson 2013

160K Harleysite
14.2k followers
16k YouTube
1.4k Twitter
259Followers
6k Tumblr
 Followers
776Loves
 Subscribers
3k TikTok
0Spotify

17HD13 HHD_2013_01

Still crazy after all these years

Vom 21. bis 23. Juni feierten die Hamburg Harley Days den 110. Geburtstag von Harley-Davidson und das eigene „Zehnjährige”

Harley und Hamburg, das ist eine ganz besondere Beziehung, schließlich fanden die ersten Milwaukee-Irons nicht selten über Hamburgs Hafen den Weg nach Deutschland.

So ließen sich die Hanseaten nicht lange bitten, als es im diesem Jahr darum ging, gleich zwei Jubiläen gebührend zu feiern: 110 Jahre Harley-Davidson und 10 Jahre Hamburg Harley Days, das bedeutete am dritten Juni-Wochenende 2013 jede Menge Überraschungen und ein Unterhaltungsprogramm, das dem Anlass mehr als gerecht wurde.

Zentrum des Geschehens war erneut die mehr als 40.000 m2 große Zeltstadt „Harley Village” am Hamburger Großmarkt.

Die seit Jahren bewährte Freifläche entpuppte sich auch zum Jubiläum der Veranstaltung mit ihrer Kombination aus tollem City-Ausblick und großzügigen Platzverhältnissen für die zahlreichen Caterer, Händler und freien Trader als Volltreffer. Spektakuläre Stuntshows, kostenlose Probefahrten und die Live-Music-Acts von Lake, Andrew Strong und neun weiteren Bands bildeten ein rundum stimmiges Gesamtpaket.

Zu den Highlights der Jubiläumsausgabe zählten das große Expo- und Erlebniszelt, in dem neben den neuesten Harleys auch eine Ausstellung zur Geschichte der Marke zu bewundern war, und die „Harley Days Night-Parades”, die für manch feurigen Moment sorgten.

Wer danach das Nachtleben der Stadt in vollen Zügen genießen wollte, hatte erstmals auch die Gelegenheit, seine Maschine sicher im neuen Safe-Parking Bereich abzustellen.

17HD13 HHD_2013_02Sehen und gesehen werden hieß es nächtens auf der zweiten Eventlocation an der Reeperbahn und am Samstagnachmittag auf der Mönckebergstraße, wo sich die besten V-Twin-Veredler der Motorrad-Szene versammelten.

Unter den strengen Augen der Jury, der unter anderem die Harley Fans und Schauspieler Till Demtrøder, Stephan Luca und Kostja Ullmann angehörten, stieg die Ride-In Bike Show mit zahlreichen hochkarätigen Unikaten.

Am Sonntag erwiesen circa 10.000 Biker ihren Gastgebern unter der Führung von Till Demtrøder und Fernsehkoch Horst Lichter auf der großen Motorradparade von gut 43 km Länge quer durch Hamburg die Ehre.

Ein gemeinsames Erlebnis, das mit dem besonderen Charme der Hafen-Metropole sowohl Biker als auch Schaulustige begeisterte – und sowohl Demtrøder als auch Lichter ein breites Dauergrinsen ins Gesicht zauberte.

Rund 550.000 Besucher zählte man über die drei Tage an den drei Event-Locations, und sicher ist, dass die Party 2014 weitergeht: Die Hamburg Harley Days 2014 steigen voraussichtlich vom 20. bis 22. Juni!

 

Text & Bilder: Copyright Harley-Davidson 2013

Tallink Silja Line

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.