Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King Icons Collection 2023

Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King 2023

Riding the Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King from the Icons Collection in Milwaukee

I experience a truly unique sitting position on the Highway King

After sitting in the comfortable seat and starting the engine, I was greeted by a deep, sonorous sound. The 114ci Milwaukee-Eight engine came to life, but the most noticeable thing was the seating position, which was very unusual for me. I sat really high and my legs were already slightly stretched, even though I'm not exactly short at 1.83. But somehow it was cool and off we went to the Mother City of Harley-Davidson . The roads in Milwaukee are really bad, but in the suspension saddle of the Highway King it doesn't bother you much.

THE BEAUTY! Those were the words from a Harley biker as I appeared next to him at a traffic light in Milwaukee. “ That Harley is so pretty ,” he said to his wife, who was sitting behind him and looking friendly over at me with a smile on her face. We only stood at the traffic lights for a short time, but we immediately started talking. That's the way it is with Americans, communication is always established quickly, especially when it's clear that you have common interests.

Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King in Milwaukee
Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King in Milwaukee

Driving on Highway King in Milwaukee

The Highway King particularly stands out in the Magenta / Birch White paintwork. There is another paint option in Orange/Birch White, but it wasn't available to me. Still, even though the color is unusual for a biker guy, I couldn't resist the temptation to ride it around Harley-Davidson's hometown. Unfortunately, you don't get this opportunity to travel with a model from the Harley-Davidson ICONS COLLECTION very often, and in Milwaukee too.

The Highway King exudes an impressive presence!

From the first moment I laid eyes on the Electra Glide Highway King, I was captivated by its imposing presence and signature styling, something more in the classic design that Harley fans around the world love about the brand. The rich black on the tank with shiny chrome details and the unmistakable Harley emblem made my biker heart beat faster, it is simply beautiful, but my favorite would still have been the orange, if you can say so. The two-tone paintwork is included in the two Icon models.

Technically the highway is king these days!

She has had various assistance systems implemented. Anti-lock braking system and corner-optimized anti-lock braking system, electronic brake force distribution and corner-optimized electronic brake force distribution, traction control and corner-optimized traction control, drag torque control, vehicle holding assistant and tire air pressure monitoring system. Something like everything that's going on at Harley today, you could say.

Harley Factory Group 2022


The Harley-Davidson Highway King in the old waterfront area of ​​Milwaukee
The Harley-Davidson Highway King in the old waterfront area of ​​Milwaukee

From Historic Buildings to Legendary Motorcycles: A Journey Through Time in Milwaukee

This building complex was built between 1889 and 1929, a period that must be considered extremely productive. After all, I'm only in Milwaukee because the first Harley-Davidson was launched here in 1903. While this old cold storage facility may be a relic of the past, Harley-Davidson remains active today, continuing the tradition of producing motorcycles

WHAT A FEELING!

The Electra Glide Highway King showed its true strength on the streets of Milwaukee. Acceleration was effortless and powerful. The 114ci engine developed an impressive torque curve, which made it possible to glide through the gears gently, or as gently as you can with a Harley, but also to overtake powerfully if necessary, but that's not particularly appropriate for such an icon.

It's not a corner chaser, you could take it quickly through corners, but the high seating position and handling are not intended for that. She just wants to be beautiful and she can do that. A royal and relaxed outing is her specialty, with her you can easily promenade through the city.

The trip to the legendary Harley-Davidson Museum

My route took me through the historic streets of Milwaukee, the birthplace of Harley-Davidson. As I drove through the streets of Milwaukee, I could feel the history and soul of Harley-Davidson. The city is the birthplace of this legendary brand, and I was honored to cruise through this historic setting on an Icons Collection Harley-Davidson.

My destination, the Harley-Davidson Museum , the perfect place to pull up on a Highway King. First, I enjoy the view from the large Sixth Street South Bridge, which is in front of the Harley-Davidson Museum, where numerous Harleys have been parked. You are not allowed to park anywhere on the bridge because it can be folded up, which some of the bikers didn't even notice.

Only when it was pointed out to them that it would be better to park somewhere else did they clear the space, which was not vacant for no reason. I just positioned myself briefly on the threshold for the photo, with the Harley-Davidson Museum in the background.

The Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King on the Sixth Street South Bridge in Milwaukee
The Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King on the Sixth Street South Bridge in Milwaukee

I can't even describe the feeling, when you have just a little bit of Harley in your blood and you get a glimpse of the museum where the entire history of Harley-Davidson is kept, you get a tingling feeling.

I can't wait to visit the museum, there's an impressive collection of historical models waiting for me, and it felt good to take the Highway King to the site.

It is parked in a row with the “ordinary” Harleys on the lawn in front of the museum. The Highway King will be able to endure that one day.

The Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King in front of the Harley-Davidson Museum in Milwaukee
The Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King in front of the Harley-Davidson Museum in Milwaukee

Vain search for the FLHFB Electra Glide from 1968, the template for today's Electra Glide Highway King

Of course, it's possible that I was totally contaminated while strolling through the Harley-Davidson Museum. But I couldn't find the original for today's Electra Glide from 1968 in the museum.

The Harley-Davidson Archive at the Harley-Davidson Museum

I went to the Harley-Davidson Archives, which really has a lot of Harley-Davidson history to explore. What you can generally see in the Harley-Davidson Museum is a story in itself. The Sturgis Softail is also located here, a particularly unique piece.

Harley-Davidson Archives - Harley-Davidson Museum Milwaukee
Harley-Davidson Archives - Harley-Davidson Museum Milwaukee

After I finished my program, I went back to the Highway King, which I had parked on the lawn. A group of Harley ladies saw me getting the magenta colored Highway King ready to go. Again I heard how beautiful it is and that you would love to have one of those. I then made it clear that it wasn't mine, I just had the honor of being the king, or maybe in the magenta livery it was also the queen, to be able to run a little through Milwaukee.

The cabin at the Harley-Davidson Museum Milwaukee
The cabin at the Harley-Davidson Museum Milwaukee

A royal day comes to an end

Harley-Davidson continues to pursue the goal of arousing desire among its customers. They achieve this with limitations, as in this case. There are a total of 1,750 of the models worldwide, 750 of which are in Hi-Fi Magenta and 1,000 in Hi-Fi Orange. The price is a royal €38,495 plus installation fee.

I was driving the model 199, one of 750 worldwide Highway Kings in magenta paint. Yes, that's something very special, the attention it received might prove them right, as long as the concept doesn't become commonplace and there are too many special models in the brand's portfolio. We had quite a few this year, but the ICONS COLLECTION still stands out.

Harley-Davidson Highway King Magenta
The Harley-Davidson Highway King Magenta parked next to all other 2023 Harley-Davidson models

Hard to get anymore!

Basically, this article only addresses very few bikers, because most of them have already been sold and very few will have received one. So it's more about the feeling and dreams, I want everyone to have fun with one of the models from the Icons Collection. It's especially good when the owners ride them and let us share in their beauty as they travel the world's highways with exclusive Harleys.

Text & image credit: Harleysite . 1968 FLHFB Harley-Davidson

Technical data and prices: Highway King 2023

Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King – FLHFB

Electra Glide Highway King model year 2023

Type: FL3 , model: FLHFB, engine: Milwaukee-Eight 114 , displacement: 1868 cm 3 , power kW (hp)/rpm*: 69 (94)/5250 , torque Nm/rpm*: 158/3250 , Top speed: 175 km/h , Standing/driving noise: 92 dB(A)/2625 rpm / 74 dB(A) , Emissions*: 142 g/km CO2 (Euro V) , Fuel consumption*: 6.1 l /100 km , standard tires: Dunlop Harley-Davidson, white wall , front: D402F MT90B16 72H , rear: D407 T 180/65B16 81H , empty weight including fuel: 385 kg , permissible total weight: 617 kg , payload: 232 kg , tank capacity (Reserve): 22.7 l (3.8 l) , seat height, without driver: 790 mm . * according to 134/2014EC

Assistance systems: anti-lock braking system and corner-optimized anti-lock braking system, electronic brake force distribution and corner-optimized electronic brake force distribution, traction control and corner-optimized traction control, drag torque control, vehicle holding assistant and tire air pressure monitoring system.

Features: Solo saddle (sprung) with chrome railing, windshield (tinted below), immobilizer, remaining range indicator, driver's footboards, electronic cruise control system, two lockable luggage cases (total volume: 64 l), chrome-plated trim strips on cases and front fender, Daymaker LED headlights, Additional headlights, self-resetting indicators, hazard warning lights, connection for battery charger.

Colors: Hi-Fi Orange, Hi-Fi Magenta, each case in Birch White


Mallorca Bike Week 2022

160K Harleysite
14.2k followers
16k YouTube
1.4k Twitter
259Followers
6k Tumblr
 Followers
776Loves
 Subscribers
3k TikTok
0Spotify

Comments are closed.

Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King Icons Collection 2023
Thunderbike Harley Davidson

Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King 2023

Auf der Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King aus der Icons Collection in Milwaukee unterwegs

Eine wirklich einzigartige Sitzhaltung erfahre ich auf der Highway King

Nachdem ich mich in den komfortablen Sitz gesetzt und den Motor gestartet hatte, wurde ich von einem tiefen, sonoren Klang begrüßt. Der 114ci Milwaukee-Eight Motor erwachte zum Leben, aber das Auffälligste war doch eher die für mich sehr ungewohnte Sitzposition. Ich saß so richtig hoch und die Beine waren schon leicht gestreckt, obwohl ich mit meinen 1,83 nicht unbedingt klein bin. Aber irgendwie geil und es ging los in die Mother City von Harley-Davidson. Die Straßen in Milwaukee sind echt schlecht, aber im gefederten Sattel der Highway King stört einen das nicht besonders.

THE BEAUTY! Das waren die Worte von einem Harley-Biker, als ich neben ihm an einer Ampel in Milwaukee aufgetaucht bin. “That Harley is so pretty“, sagte er zu seiner Frau, die hinter ihm saß und freundlich mit einem lächeln im Gesicht zu mir rüber schaute. Wir standen zwar nur kurz an der Ampel, waren aber sofort im Gespräch. Das ist so bei den Amerikanern, die Kommunikation ist immer schnell hergestellt, besonders, wenn es ersichtlich ist, dass man gemeinsame Interessen hat.

Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King in Milwaukee
Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King in Milwaukee

Auf der Highway King in Milwaukee unterwegs

Die Highway King sticht besonders in der Lackierung Magenta / Birch White hervor. Es gibt eine weitere Lackoption in Orange / Birch White, die mir jedoch nicht zur Verfügung stand. Trotzdem konnte ich der Versuchung nicht widerstehen, selbst wenn die Farbe für einen Biker Typen eher ungewöhnlich ist, auf ihr durch die Heimatstadt von Harley-Davidson zu fahren. Diese Gelegenheit bietet sich einem leider nicht oft, mit einem Modell aus der Harley-Davidson ICONS COLLECTION unterwegs zu sein und dazu noch in Milwaukee.

Die Highway King strahlt eine beeindruckende Präsenz aus!

Schon beim ersten Anblick der Electra Glide Highway King war ich fasziniert von ihrer imposanten Präsenz und dem charakteristischen Styling, etwas mehr im klassischen Design, was Harley-Fans auf der ganzen Welt an der Marke so lieben. Das satte Schwarz auf dem Tank mit glänzenden Chromdetails und dem unverwechselbaren Harley-Emblem ließen mein Biker-Herz höher schlagen, sie ist einfach schön, mein Favorit wäre aber trotzdem die Orange gewesen, wenn man das so sagen darf. Die zweifarbige Lackierung ist bei den beiden Icon Modellen inklusive.

Technisch ist die Highway King in der heutigen Zeit!

Sie hat diverse Assistenzsysteme implementiert bekommen. Antiblockiersystem und kurvenoptimiertes Antiblockiersystem, Elektronische Bremskraftverteilung und kurvenoptimierte elektronische Bremskraftverteilung, Antriebsschlupfregelung und kurvenoptimierte Antriebsschlupfregelung, Schleppmomentregelung, Fahrzeughalteassistent und Reifenluftdruck-Kontrollsystem. Irgendwie alles, was bei Harley heute so geht, könnte man sagen.

Harley-Davidson Aachen Biker-Ranch


Die Harley-Davidson Highway King im alten Hafengebiet von Milwaukee
Die Harley-Davidson Highway King im alten Hafengebiet von Milwaukee

Von historischen Gebäuden zu legendären Motorrädern: Eine Reise durch die Zeit in Milwaukee

Zwischen 1889 und 1929 wurde dieser Gebäudekomplex erbaut, eine Zeit, die als äußerst produktiv betrachtet werden muss. Schließlich bin ich nur in Milwaukee, weil hier im Jahr 1903 die erste Harley-Davidson ins Leben gerufen wurde. Während dieses alte Kühlhaus ein Relikt der Vergangenheit sein mag, bleibt Harley-Davidson bis heute aktiv und setzt die Tradition fort, legendäre Motorräder wie die Highway King zu produzieren.

WHAT A FEELING!

Auf den Straßen von Milwaukee zeigte die Electra Glide Highway King ihre wahre Stärke. Die Beschleunigung war mühelos und kraftvoll. Der 114ci Motor entfaltete eine beeindruckende Drehmomentkurve, die es ermöglicht, sanft, oder so sanft wie es eben mit einer Harley geht, durch die Gänge zu gleiten, aber auch bei Bedarf kraftvoll zu überholen, bei so einer Icone schickt sich das allerdings nicht besonders.

Sie ist kein Kurvenjäger, man könnte zwar schnell mit ihr durch die Kurven hatzen, aber die hohe Sitzposition und das Handling ist nicht dafür gedacht. Sie will einfach nur schön sein und das kann sie. Eine königliche und entspannte Ausfahrt ist ihr Metier, mit ihr kann man hervorragend durch die Stadt promenieren.

Die Fahrt zum legendären Harley-Davidson Museum

Meine Route führte mich durch die geschichtsträchtigen Straßen von Milwaukee, der Geburtsstadt von Harley-Davidson. Während ich durch die Straßen von Milwaukee fuhr, konnte ich die Geschichte und die Seele von Harley-Davidson spüren. Die Stadt ist der Geburtsort dieser legendären Marke, und ich fühlte mich geehrt, auf einer Harley-Davidson der Icons Collection durch diese geschichtsträchtige Umgebung zu cruisen.

1903 Harley-Davidson Glocken

Mein Ziel, das Harley-Davidson Museum, der perfekte Ort, wo man mit einer Highway King vorfahren kann. Vorab genieße ich noch den Blick von der großen Sixth Street South Bridge, die vor dem Harley-Davidson Museum ist, wo zahlreiche Harleys geparkt worden sind. Sie dürfen nicht überall auf der Brücke parken, denn sie lässt sich hochklappen, was einige der Biker gar nicht bemerkt haben.

Erst als man sie drauf hingewiesen hatte, doch besser woanders zu parken, räumten sie den nicht ohne Grund freien Platz wieder. Ich habe mir nur kurz auf der Schwelle für das Foto, mit dem Harley-Davidson Museum im Hintergrund dort positioniert.

Die Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King auf der Sixth Street South Bridge in Milwaukee
Die Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King auf der Sixth Street South Bridge in Milwaukee

Ich kann das Feeling gar nicht beschreiben, wenn man nur ein bisschen Harley im Blut hat und den Blick auf das Museum bekommt, wo die gesamte Historie von Harley-Davidson aufbewahrt wird, kribbelt es einem ganz schön.

Ich kann es gar nicht abwarten, das Museum zu besichtigen, mich erwartet eine beeindruckenden Sammlung historischer Modelle, es fühlte sich gut an, dazu noch mit der Highway King auf das Gelände zu fahren.

Harley-Davidson Versicherung 2024

Geparkt wird in einer Reihe mit den “gewöhnlichen” Harleys auf der Wiese vor dem Museum. Das wird die Highway King einmal aushalten können.

Die Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King vor dem Harley-Davidson Museum in Milwaukee
Die Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King vor dem Harley-Davidson Museum in Milwaukee

Vergebliche Suche nach der FLHFB Electra Glide von 1968, die Vorlage zur heutigen Electra Glide Highway King

Es ist natürlich möglich, das ich total verstrahlt gewesen bin, als ich durch das Harley-Davidson Museum geschlendert bin. Aber die Vorlage zur heutigen Electra Glide von 1968 konnte ich im Museum nicht entdecken.

Das Harley-Davidson Archiv im Harley-Davidson Museum

Ich war im Harley-Davidson Archiv, wo wirklich eine Menge Harley-Davidson Geschichte zu erkunden ist. Hammerhart, was man in dem Harley-Davidson Museum generell alles zu sehen bekommt, das ist eine eigene Story. Hier steht auch die Sturgis Softail, ein ganz besonders Einzelstück.

Harley-Davidson Archives - Harley-Davidson Museum Milwaukee
Harley-Davidson Archives – Harrley-Davidson Museum Milwaukee

Nachdem ich mein Programm durch hatte, ging ich wieder zurück zur Highway King, die ich auf der Wiese abgeparkt hatte. Eine Gruppe von Harley Ladies sah mich, als ich die Magenta farbene Highway King startklar machte. Wieder bekam ich zu hören, wie schön sie ist und das man selbst zu gerne so eine hätte. Ich gab dann zu verstehen, das es nicht meine ist, ich hatte bloß die Ehre den König, oder ist es in der Lackierung Magenta vielleicht auch die Königin, ein wenig durch Milwaukee ausführen zu können.

Die Hütte im Harley-Davidson Museum Milwaukee
Die Hütte im Harley-Davidson Museum Milwaukee

Ein königlicher Tag geht zu Ende

Harley-Davidson verfolgt weiterhin das Ziel, bei der Kundschaft Begehrlichkeiten wecken zu wollen. Das erreichen sie mit Limitierungen, wie in diesem Fall. Von den Modellen gibt es weltweit insgesamt 1750 Stück, 750 davon in Hi-Fi Magenta und 1000 in Hi-Fi Orange. Der Preis liegt bei königlichen 38.495€ plus Aufbaupauschale.

Ich war mit dem Modell 199, von 750 weltweiten Highway Kings in Magenta Lackierung unterwegs. Ja, das ist schon etwas sehr besonderes, die erhaltene Aufmerksamkeit gibt ihnen vielleicht recht, solange das Konzept nicht alltäglich wird und es zu viele Sondermodelle im Portfolio der Marke gibt. Dieses Jahr hatten wir ja so einige, aber die ICONS COLLECTION sticht trotzdem hervor.

Harley-Davidson Highway King Magenta
Die Harley-Davidson Highway King Magenta geparkt neben allen anderen Modellen der 2023er Harley-Davidson Modelle

Kaum noch zu bekommen!

Im Grunde spricht man mit diesem Beitrag nur sehr wenige Biker an, denn die Meisten sind schon verkauft und die wenigsten werden eine bekommen haben. Also geht es hier eher nur um das Feeling und Träume, ich gönne jedem den Spaß mit einem der Modelle aus der Icons Collection. Besonders gut ist es, wenn die Besitzer mit ihnen fahren und uns an ihrer Schönheit teilhaben lassen, wenn sie mit exklusiven Harleys auf den Highways der Welt unterwegs sind.

Text & Bildnachweis: Harleysite. 1968 FLHFB Harley-Davidson

Technischen Daten und Preise: Highway King 2023

Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King – FLHFB

Electra Glide Highway King Modelljahr 2023

Typ: FL3, Modell: FLHFB, Motor: Milwaukee-Eight 114, Hubraum: 1868 cm3, Leistung kW (PS)/U/min*: 69 (94)/5250,Drehmoment Nm/U/min*: 158/3250, Höchstgeschwindigkeit: 175 km/h,Stand-/Fahrgeräusch: 92 dB(A)/2625 U/min / 74 dB(A), Emissionen*: 142 g/km CO2 (Euro V), Kraftstoffverbrauch*: 6,1 l/100 km, Serienbereifung: Dunlop Harley-Davidson, Weißwand, vorn: D402F MT90B16 72H, hinten: D407 T 180/65B16 81H, Leergewicht inkl. Betr.stoffe: 385 kg, Zulässiges Gesamtgewicht: 617 kg, Zuladung: 232 kg, Tankinhalt (Reserve): 22,7 l (3,8 l), Sitzhöhe, ohne Fahrer: 790 mm. * gemäß 134/2014EC

Assistenzsysteme: Antiblockiersystem und kurvenoptimiertes Antiblockiersystem, Elektronische Bremskraftverteilung und kurvenoptimierte elektronische Bremskraftverteilung, Antriebsschlupfregelung und kurvenoptimierte Antriebsschlupfregelung Schleppmomentregelung, Fahrzeughalteassistent und Reifenluftdruck-Kontrollsystem.

Features: Solosattel (gefedert) mit Chromreling, Windschild (unten getönt), Wegfahrsperre, Restreichweitenanzeige, Fahrertrittbretter, elektronische Geschwindigkeitsregelanlage, zwei verschließbare Gepäckkoffer (Ges.-Vol.: 64 l), verchromte Zierleisten an Koffern und Frontfender, Daymaker LED-Scheinwerfer, Zusatzscheinwerfer, selbstrückstellende Blinker, Warnblinkanlage, Anschluss für Batterieladegerät.

Farben: Hi-Fi Orange, Hi-Fi Magenta, Koffer jew. in Birch White


Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Highway King 2023 2

Mallorca Bike Week 2022
180KHarleysite
38kFollowers
18.7kYouTube
1.4kTwitter
264Followers
6kTumblr
864Loves
 Subscribers
10kTikTok

Comments are closed.