10 years of Forty-Eight
Harley-Davidson Forty-Eight model year 2013

Heartbreaker

Ten years ago, Harley-Davidson presented the first Forty-Eight

  • 1202 cubic centimeters, 96 Newton meters and a stable Sportster chassis
  • In the stylish look of the post-war bobber
  • One of the top sellers in the Harley-Davidson portfolio for a decade

(Neu-Isenburg, April 6th, 2020) It came, saw and won - it's hard to believe that it's been ten years since the first of its kind hit asphalt. The Forty-Eight still looks as timeless as it did on day one and aims right at the heart of the Harley community with its reduced-to-the-essentials look and original riding experience.

10 years of Forty-Eight - Harleysite
10 years of the Harley-Davidson Sportster Forty-Eight model year 2020

At the center of the visual action is the 1,202 cubic centimeter, air-cooled V-twin. With a whopping 96 Newton meters at 3,500 crankshaft rotations, the impressive long-stroke engine also makes a powerful impact when driving. And thanks to the low-maintenance timing belt, ABS brakes, a 49-millimeter cartridge fork on massive triple clamps and emulsion spring struts at the rear, the stiff Sportster chassis confidently transfers the power to the road.

The impressively beefy outfit of the Forty-Eight is a reminiscence of the purist bobbers that were created in many US garages and backyards after the Second World War - true to the motto: get rid of everything that is dispensable. Our forefathers knew: a crouched silhouette, two fat 16-inch bikes, flat handlebars, a low solo saddle and of course a V2 with a strong character, that's all you need for the ultimate driving fun on two wheels. And when the whole thing is accompanied by the emotionally charged pulse of the pistons and the unmistakable Harley sound , it pulls the corners of real bikers' mouths right up.

10 years of Forty-Eight - Harleysite
10 years of Harley-Davidson Sportster Forty-Eight

The 2.1 gallon (7.95 liter) peanut tank makes a decisive contribution to Forty-Eight's Milwaukee and also gives the machine its name: Founded in 1948 This is the first time you've seen such a dynamically styled fuel tank on a Harley-Davidson .

Details such as the rearview mirrors mounted under the handlebars, the classic round air filter and the combined LED taillights, brake and indicator lights contribute to the custom look of the Forty-Eight, while the perforated frame cover in front of the seat as well as the slots in the exhaust shields and the timing belt cover reminiscent of the performance that was also characteristic of the fat-reduced post-war bobbers. Of course, everything on this machine that looks like metal is made of metal - proof of its unshakable solidity, which is conveyed by just looking at it.

10 years of Forty-Eight - Harleysite
10 years of Harley-Davidson Sportster Forty-Eight

Could a vehicle embody the word components “engine” and “wheel” in a more casual, stylish and accurate way? No wonder that the Forty-Eight has been one of the top sellers in the Harley-Davidson model range for ten years. In 2020 it is available in four strong colors and with a classic tank emblem - with keyless ignition, immobilizer, four-year guarantee and, if desired, reduced power to suit the A2 driving license .

More information about the Forty-Eight , its “Special” variant and the other six Sportster models can be found at Harley-Davidson.com .

Text & Image Credits: Copyright Harley-Davidson


#1 bestseller
Nostalgic-Art Retro money box, 600 ml, Harley-Davidson - Genuine Oil - gift idea for bikers,...
  • HARLEY-DAVIDSON GIFT: for Harley-Davidson and...
  • WE LOVE RETRO: money box in a nostalgic design with...
  • SPACE FOR MANY WISHES: handy money box with 600 ml...
  • COOL EYE-CATCHER AND GREAT GIFT: practical money box...
OfferBestseller #2
Bauer Spielwaren 2049731 Maisto Harley-Davidson Sportster Iron 883: True to the original motorcycle model...
  • Beautiful standing model: detailed designed...
  • Decorative collector's item: The model motorcycle is a...
  • True-to-original replica: The decorative motorcycle is made of...
  • Loving details: The miniature motorcycle impresses with...

Affiliate links February 24, 2024

160K Harleysite
14.2k followers
16k YouTube
1.4k Twitter
259Followers
6k Tumblr
 Followers
778Loves
 Subscribers
3k TikTok
0Spotify

One thought on “Ten years ago, Harley-Davidson presented the first Forty-Eight”

  1. I am the proud owner of a Forty-Eight and am in the fortunate position to let off steam with my hobby and my passion for Harley Davidson in my daily work. Recently I even have a website where Harleys can be bought and sold: https://moto-inserate.ch/?pg=su&title=harley+davidson There are always wonderful, unique models underneath. There are many good motorcycles but for me only the ones from Milwaukee exist. “Every Harley tells you a story, you just have to listen.”

Comments are closed.

10 Jahre Forty-Eight
Harley-Davidson Forty-Eight Modelljahr 2013
BTE Auto - Motorrad Reise Zug Hamburg – Lörrach

3

Heartbreaker

Vor zehn Jahren präsentierte Harley-Davidson die erste Forty-Eight

  • 1202 Kubikzentimeter, 96 Newtonmeter und ein stabiles Sportster-Chassis
  • Im stilvollen Look der Nachkriegsbobber
  • Seit einem Jahrzehnt unter den Topsellern im Harley-Davidson-Portfolio

(Neu-Isenburg, 06.04.2020) Sie kam, sah und siegte – kaum zu glauben, dass es schon zehn Jahre her ist, dass die erste ihrer Art Asphalt unter die Räder nahm. Die Forty-Eight wirkt noch immer so zeitlos wie am ersten Tag und zielt mit ihrem auf das Wesentliche reduzierten Look und ihrem ursprünglichen Fahrerlebnis mitten ins Herz der Harley-Gemeinde.

10 Jahre Forty-Eight - Harleysite
10 Jahre Harley-Davidson Sportster Forty-Eight Modelljahr 2020

Im Zentrum des optischen Geschehens steht bei ihr der 1.202 Kubikzentimeter große, luftgekühlte V-Twin. Mit satten 96 Newtonmetern bei 3.500 Kurbelwellenrotationen setzt sich der imposante Langhuber auch beim Fahren machtvoll in Szene. Und dank des wartungsarmen Zahnriemens, ABS-Bremsen, einer 49-Millimeter-Cartridge-Gabel an wuchtigen Gabelbrücken und Emulsionsfederbeinen am Heck bringt das steife Sportster-Chassis die Kraft souverän auf die Straße.

Das eindrucksvoll bullige Outfit der Forty-Eight ist eine Reminiszenz an puristische Bobber, die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in etlichen US-Garagen und -Hinterhöfen entstanden – frei nach dem Motto: weg mit allem, was entbehrlich ist. Unsere Altvorderen wussten: eine geduckte Silhouette, zwei fette 16-Zöller, ein flacher Lenker, ein niedrig angeordneter Solosattel und natürlich ein charakterstarker V2, mehr braucht es nicht für den ultimativen Fahrspaß auf zwei Rädern. Und wenn das Ganze dann noch untermalt wird vom emotions­geladenen Puls der Kolben und dem unverwechselbaren Harley-Sound, zieht es die Mundwinkel echter Biker ganz weit nach oben.

10 Jahre Forty-Eight - Harleysite
10 Jahre Harley-Davidson Sportster Forty-Eight

Einen entscheidenden Beitrag zum Gesamtkunstwerk Forty-Eight leistet der 2,1 Gallonen (7,95 Liter) fassende Peanut-Tank, der mit seiner ultrakompakten Form den Blick auf das Motorenmonument aus Milwaukee lenkt und zudem namensgebend für die Maschine ist: Im Jahr 1948 fand man einen derart schwungvoll gestylten Spritbehälter erstmals an einer Harley-Davidson.

Details wie die unter dem Lenker montierten Rückspiegel, der klassisch runde Luftfilter und die kombinierten LED-Rück-, Brems- und Blinkleuchten tragen zum Customlook der Forty-Eight bei, während die gelochte Rahmenabdeckung vor dem Sitz sowie die Schlitze in den Auspuffschilden und der Zahnriemen­abdeckung an die Performance erinnern, die auch den fettreduzierten Nachkriegsbobbern eigen war. Natürlich ist an dieser Maschine alles aus Metall, was nach Metall aussieht – ein Beweis ihrer unerschütterlichen Solidität, die bereits der Anblick vermittelt.

Rokker Company
10 Jahre Forty-Eight - Harleysite
10 Jahre Harley-Davidson Sportster Forty-Eight

Könnte ein Fahrzeug die Wortbestandteile „Motor“ und „Rad“ lässiger, stilvoller und treffsicherer verkörpern? Kein Wunder, dass die Forty-Eight seit zehn Jahren zu den Topsellern im Harley-Davidson-Modellprogramm zählt. 2020 ist sie in vier starken Farben und mit einem klassisch angehauchten Tankemblem erhältlich – mit Keyless Ignition, Wegfahrsperre, vier Jahren Garantie und auf Wunsch passend leistungsreduziert für den A2-Führerschein.

Mehr Infos zur Forty-Eight, ihrer „Special“-Variante und den anderen sechs Sportster-Modellen gibt’s unter Harley-Davidson.com.

Text & Bildnachweis: Copyright Harley-Davidson


AngebotBestseller Nr. 1
Harley-Davidson Biker Themed Garden Gnome, 4.5 x 3.5 x 11 inches 544902
  • Harley-Davidson Biker Garden Gnome
  • Konstruiert aus lackierter Polystone
  • decked Out in Ihrem Lieblings-Leder und bereit zu reiten
  • Gartenzwerge sind der Meinung, bringen viel Glück für Ihren Garten
  • Größe: 11,4 cm W x 8,9 cm D x 27,9 cm H
Bestseller Nr. 2
Harley Davidson Langarm-Shirt Skull Black, L
  • 95% Baumwolle
  • 5% Spandex
  • gesticktes Skull Logo auf beiden Seiten
Bestseller Nr. 3
Harley-Davidson Skull Soft Shell Handschuhe, 98364-17EM, XL
  • 100 % Polyester, schwarz
  • Trikot-Innenfutter, Touchscreen kompatibler Zeigefinger, Gummigrafik
  • ergonomischer Daumen und leicht vorgebogene Finger, Neoprenverschluss mit einstellbarer Schliesse
  • fester, modelierter Fingerknöchelschutz, verstärkte Handinnenseite, Daumen und
  • Erfüllt und übertrifft CE Anforderungen für CE-zertifizierte persönliche Schutzausrüstung

Affiliate Links 1.06.2020

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.