In Barstow you can find an original section of the old Route 66
Mallorca Bike Week 2022

Over the mountain range from Los Angeles to Barstow

The next morning in Barstow on Route 66, the sun is shining and it's really warm, we stayed in a classic American hotel.

The Quality Inn is a 2 star hotel, but we would give the hotel one more star, everything was clean, very comfortable beds, flat screen TV, refrigerator and also air conditioned. There is even a simple but well-kept pool in the courtyard of the complex. The hotel is not the typical holiday hotel; Americans are more likely to be passing through.

The staff is very nice, we received a very friendly welcome late in the evening at the reception, which is staffed all day long.

Cool staff and a great breakfast!

Breakfast was served to us by a very nice waitress in RockaBilly style, which is certainly her private style, but it absolutely suited the hotel.

The breakfast was really great, with yoghurt and fresh fruit, even strawberries and melon, a great, delicious omelet and coffee, that was all included in this hotel.

Railway bridge in Barstow
Railway bridge in Barstow

The new day can begin well strengthened, after checking out we drove to the gas station opposite the hotel to fill up, it's always advisable to have enough to drink with you, you never know!

On our tour list today was the Motheroad Museum and the Santa Fe train station, both of which are on the outskirts of Barstow. Unfortunately, the museum is only open on weekends, but this area where the museum is is still worth a visit, there is a really nice nostalgic bridge there that you can drive over, it has something special about it.

The old train station with its old stories, there are still old locomotives and wagons from the Santa Fe Railway Company here, a large track system shows that this must have really been an important transshipment point, it is definitely worth a visit for a photo.

Harley Factory Group 2022

We rode the route past the old train station a little further into the desert, unfortunately one of our bikes wasn't doing so well, the one from Hermann was getting hotter and hotter. The problem couldn't be solved so easily, so we quickly called EagleRider

We have agreed on a meeting point at Denny's Burger where we want to exchange the machines, but that would take a few hours. The EagleRider service set off straight away, but the distances are simply long and it's really difficult to get around by car, especially in the cities.

After we tested Denny's Burgers extensively, the service department replaced the machine and everything went really smoothly. Denny's Burger is open 24 hours a day, if you want to eat a good steak you will find very good food here at a reasonable price. We really liked it, the staff were also very friendly, they carried things after us that we had left behind had.

However, it gets dark after 7:00 p.m. in March, which meant we had to make our drive towards Death Valley in the dark. The LED headlights from the Harley-Davidson E-Glide had to give their all, they illuminated the streets really well.

We noticed especially in the curves how important the two additional headlights are; they particularly illuminate the close side area when cornering.

Coyotes cross the highway in front of us at night

In the evening the temperatures can drop quickly, sometimes 15 degrees were not uncommon, this is explained by the difference in altitude. At night we even saw coyotes running along the route in the desert, otherwise you don't see many animals on the tour.

We arrived at Stovepipe Wells late in the evening, right in the middle of Death Valley! However, it is pitch black, we won't see what it looks like until the next morning, so now it's time to say GOOD NIGHT.

Harley-Davidson Hamburg South May 2023
180K Harleysite
38k followers
18.7k YouTube
1.4k Twitter
265Followers
6k Tumblr
867Loves
 Subscribers
10k TikTok

2 thoughts on “Part 3 – USA Tour Story | Barstow is a great place, right off Route 66”

  1. Hi,
    well written report.
    In 2018 we toured the old “66” from Flagstaff to Barstow and then stayed overnight there. From our Motel6 we walked about a kilometer to a restaurant in the early evening. On the way, a local resident spoke to us and warned us not to be pedestrians here (main street), very dangerous, as robberies often occur... Maybe it's useful to know ;-))
    So long.
    Wally

    1. Hello Wally, yes, tips like these are always good, especially on this route under normal circumstances there are a lot of people on the road. Thank you, greetings Volker

Comments are closed.

Quality Inn - Barstow - Route 66
Rokker Company

Über die Gebirgskette von Los Angeles nach Barstow

Der nächste Morgen in Barstow an der Route 66, die Sonne scheint und es ist richtig schön warm, wir sind in einem klassisch amerikanischem Hotel untergekommen.

Das Quality Inn ist ein 2 Sterne Hotel, wir  würden dem Hotel aber auch noch einen Stern mehr geben, alles sauber, sehr bequeme Betten, Flat TV, Kühlschrank und auch klimatisiert. Sogar ein einfacher, aber gepflegter Pool ist im Innenhof der Anlage, das Hotel ist nicht das typische Urlauber Hotel, es sind eher durchreisende Amerikaner anzutreffen.

Das Personal ist sehr nett, wir sind am späten Abend an der Rezeption, die durchgängig besetzt ist, sehr freundlich empfangen worden.

Cooles Personal und ein klasse Frühstück!

Das Frühstück wurde uns von einer sehr netten Bedienung im RockaBilly Style serviert, sicherlich ist das auch ihr privater Style, aber das passte absolut zum Hotel.

Das Frühstück war wirklich Klasse, mit Joguhrt und frischen Früchten, sogar Erdbeeren und Melone waren dabei, ein tolles leckeres Omelett und Kaffee satt, das war in diesem Hotel alles inklusive.

Eisenbahnbrücke in Barstow

Gut gestärkt kann der neue Tag beginnen, nach dem Auschecken sind wir erstmal gegenüber vom Hotel an die Tankstelle zum tanken gefahren, es empfielt sich auch immer genug zu trinken dabei zu haben, man weiß ja nie!

Auf unserem heutigen Tourenzettel stand das Motheroad Museum und der Santa Fe Bahnhof, das liegt beides zusammen am Ortsrand von Barstow. Das Museum hat leider nur am Wochenende geöffnet, aber diese Gegend, wo das Museum ist, lohnt den Besuch trotzdem, eine richtig schöne nostalgische Brücke ist dort, über die man gefahren kommt, die hat irgendwas besonderes an sich.

Der alte Bahnhof mit seinen alten Geschichten, hier stehen noch alte Loks und Waggons der Santa Fe Bahngesellschaft, eine große Gleisanlage zeigt, das hier wirklich ein wichtiger Umschlagplatz gewesen sein muss, ein Besuch lohnt sich für ein Foto auf jeden Fall.

Wir sind die Strecke am alten Bahnhof vorbei noch etwas weiter in die Wüste reingefahren, leider fand das eins unserer Bikes nicht so gut, die eine Maschine von Hermann, wurde zunehmend heißer. Das Problem ließ sich auch nicht so einfach aus der Welt schaffen, das wir kurzerhand den Service von EagleRider angerufen haben.

Wir haben einen Treffpunkt bei Denny´s Burger vereinbart, wo wir die Maschinen austauschen wollen, allerdings dauert sowas ein paar Stunden. Der EagleRider Service ist sofort los gefahren, aber die Wege sind einfach lang und besonders in den Städten ist mit dem Auto wirklich ein schweres vorankommen.

Nachdem wir dann Denny´s Burger ausgiebig getestet haben, hat der Service die Maschine ausgetauscht, das lief alles echt problemlos. Denny´s Burger hat 24 Std. geöffnet, wer ein gutes Steak essen möchte, findet hier preisgünstig sehr gutes Essen, uns hat es sehr gut gefallen, das Personal war ebenfalls sehr freundlich, die haben uns noch Sachen hinterhergetragen, die wir liegen lassen hatten.

Allerdings wird es ab 19:00 Uhr im März dunkel, das hieß, wir mussten unsere Fahrt in Richtung Death Valley im dunkeln machen. Die LED Scheinwerfer von der Harley-Davidson E-Glide mussten alles geben, sie haben die Straßen richtig gut ausgeleuchtet.

Besonders in den Kurven konnten wir festellen, wie wichtig die beiden Zusatzscheinwerfer sind, sie leuchten besonders den seitlichen Nahbereich bei Kurvenfahrten aus.

Kojoten kreuzen in der Nacht vor uns den Highway

Abends können die Temperaturen schnell sinken, teilweise sind 15 Grad keine Seltenheit gewesen, durch die Höhenunterschiede erklärt sich das. Nachts haben wir auf der Strecke in der Wüste sogar Kojoten laufen sehen, man sieht ansonsten nicht viele Tiere auf der Tour.

Am späten Abend sind wir Stovepipe Wells angekommen, mitten drin in Death Valley! Allerdings ist es stockfinster, wie es hier aussieht, werden wir erst am nächsten Morgen sehen, nun heißt es erstmal GUTE NACHT.

Tallink Silja Line

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.